About IStories

About IStories

IStories is a new media outlet founded by Russia’s top investigative journalists. We reject censorship and news which does not make sense. IStories stands for “Important Stories”. For us, important stories are those which answer three fundamental questions that we ask ourselves before we begin to tackle a new topic:

  • Is it important that people know about this story?
  • To what extent does it reflect reality?
  • Can we prove it with the help of documents or trusted sources?

If the answer to each of these questions is yes, then we dive into the topic. And even though we believe that journalism is, first and foremost, about calling the government into question, this does not mean that we only consider stories about corruption or state repression to be “important”.

We believe that the best media outlets should be funded by their readers. This is the only way that the media can remain genuinely independent and fulfil its main function: to reveal the truth about what is happening in the country.

IStories is registered as a non-profit organisation. We do not have an owner, so there is nobody to dictate terms to us. We do not earn money from advertising contracts, so we do not depend on advertising. We run on donations.

You can also become a donor by making a one-time or monthly donation.

We want to depend on you alone, on the people who want to know the truth, the people who are not afraid to be free. Help us to tell you the “Important Stories”.

О чем «Важные истории»

О чем «Важные истории»

«Важные истории» — это новое медиа, которое основали известные журналисты-расследователи России. Мы не приемлем цензуру и новости, лишенные смысла. Для нас «Важные истории» — это все, что отвечает на три вопроса, которыми мы задаемся каждый раз перед тем как приступить к новой теме:

  • действительно ли эта история важна для людей? 
  • насколько она соответствует действительности? 
  • можем ли мы ее доказать с помощью документов или проверенных источников?  

Если на каждый из этих вопросов мы даем себе положительный ответ, то тогда мы беремся за тему. И хотя мы считаем, что журналистика — это прежде всего про то, чтобы призывать власть к ответу, это не означает, что «важными» будут только истории о коррупции или репрессиях со стороны государства.

Мы считаем, что идеальное СМИ должно существовать за счет поддержки своих читателей. Только так медиа может оставаться по-настоящему независимым и выполнять свою главную функцию — рассказывать правду о том, что происходит в стране.

«Важные истории» зарегистрированы как некоммерческая организация. У нас нет собственника, а значит, нет того, кто может диктовать условия. Мы не зарабатываем на рекламных контрактах, а значит, не зависим от рекламодателей. Мы существуем на пожертвования.

Вы тоже можете стать нашим донором, оформив разовое или ежемесячное пожертвование.

Мы хотим зависеть только от вас — тех, кто хочет знать правду, тех, кто не боится быть свободным. Помогите нам рассказать вам «Важные истории».

Контакты редакции